American Gothic Episode Guide

American Gothic


American Gothic Episode Guide

Episode #01 – Pilot

American   Gothic - 01x01 Pilot Summary: The death of a traumatized young girl named Merlyn Temple, has shaken the small town of Trinity, South Carolina. Merlyn’s younger brother, Caleb, is taken under the wing of the town’s new doctor, Matt Crower, and notices a deep interest in the boy from the mysterious Sheriff Lucas Buck. Caleb’s cousin Gail, returns to her hometown and faces off with Sheriff Buck, who she believes is linked to her own mother’s death.

Episode #02 – A Tree Grows in Trinity

American   Gothic - 01x02 A Tree Grows in Trinity Summary: Caleb flees from Sheriff Buck and finds himself in an abandoned hunting lodge, where a dying man is being held captive. Merlyn’s spirit confronts Caleb and encourages him to help the man. Meanwhile, at Merlyn’s funeral, Caleb learns that his daddy is dead too and that his cousin Gail has come home to protect him.

Episode #03 – Eye of the Beholder

American   Gothic - 01x03 Eye of the Beholder Summary: Sheriff Buck will do anything to win Caleb away from Gail at his custody hearing, including calling in a favor from the judge overseeing the case and an attempt to destroy Dr. Crower. Meanwhile, a mirror given to Dan Trulane as a wedding gift has a strange attraction over his bride to be.

Episode #04 – Damned If You Don’t

American   Gothic - 01x04 Damned If You Don't Summary: Lucas Buck seeks a payback for a favor when he requests that Carter Bowen’s teenage daughter work for him. But when he refuses, a series of events occur that unravels Carter’s life. Also, Caleb receives help from Lucas on a school project, and Gail searches for answers about her mom.

Episode #05 – Dead to the World

American   Gothic - 01x05 Dead to the WorldSummary: Gail seeks the truth about the night her best friend disappeared after driving off a bridge. She may have gone too far when she accuses Sheriff Buck as having a hand in her death after discovering that they had dated at the time of her disappearance. Meanwhile, Caleb learns about himself and honor when Lucas offers to help him win an archery contest.

Episode #06 – Meet the Beetles

American   Gothic - 01x06 Meet the Beetles Summary: Lucas Buck is held under suspicion after two skeletons are found on his property. Jack Drey, a state policeman suspects Lucas of having a part in his adulterous brother-in-law’s disappearance.

Episode #07 – Strong Arm of the Law

American   Gothic - 01x07 Strong Arm of the Law Summary: Trinity is invaded by four northerners who move into the boarding house and start a crime wave throughout town. Sheriff Buck has a deadly confrontation with the guests.

Episode #08 – Rebirth

American   Gothic - 01x08 Rebirth Summary: Merlyn borrows the spirit of an unborn child and reappears as a young girl as a means to experience the life she had missed out on, such as first love. After Caleb and the Sheriff figure out what has happened, Caleb realizes she must give back the unborn child’s spirit if it is to survive, while Sheriff Buck wants her to remain on earth.

Episode #09 – Resurrector

American   Gothic - 01x09 Resurrector Summary: A radio host vows to ruin Sheriff Buck after he rejects his plea for help. A depressed Caleb wants to hold a party for the dead in order to give Merlyn a second funeral.

Episode #10 – Inhumanitas

American   Gothic - 01x10 Inhumanitas Summary: Sheriff Buck must answer for all his past crimes when Merlyn returns as an avenging angel. Father Tilden’s church is the scene of their chilling confrontation.

Episode #11 – The Plague Sower

American   Gothic - 01x11 The Plague Sower Summary: A mysterious bleeding illness has hit Trinity, which brings a new doctor to town. Sheriff Buck turns to Dr. Peele for help after Dr. Cower has a breakdown while trying to treat all the townsfolk hit with the plague.

Episode #12 – Doctor Death Takes a Holiday

American   Gothic - 01x12 Doctor Death Takes a Holiday Summary: When a woman checks into the hospital claiming to be Sheriff Buck’s mother, Dr. Crower grows more curious and decides to reinvestigate Merlyn’s murder. She asks Dr. Crower to kill Sheriff Buck, but the tables are turned which creates unsettling results.

Episode #13 – The Beast Within

American   Gothic - 01x13 The Beast Within Summary: When Artie, Ben’s brother, robs a store in Trinity, Ben accidentally shoots him and then is taken hostage along with Sheriff Buck, Caleb and Dr. Crower at the hospital.

Episode #14 – To Hell and Back

American   Gothic - 01x14 To Hell and Back Summary: When Dr. Crower treats the victims of a drunk driving accident, he conjures up memories of his wife and daughters deaths. Sheriff Buck pushes Dr. Cower over the edge by enticing him to start drinking again. Meanwhile, a strange neighbor’s digging bothers Caleb.

Episode #15 – Learning to Crawl

American   Gothic - 01x15 Learning to Crawl Summary: A new bond is brought between Caleb and Sheriff Buck after he is brought back to life after being electrocuted. While on a fishing trip Caleb and Sheriff Buck encounter dangerous criminals who have kidnapped a corporate executive. Meanwhile, Caleb is given special sensory powers after learning a lesson from Sheriff Buck while trapped in the cabin.

Episode #16 – Triangle

American   Gothic - 01x16 Triangle Summary: Just as Gail informs Caleb that she is leaving Trinity and taking him along, she collapses and is taken to the hospital where she learns she is pregnant with Sheriff Buck’s child.

Episode #17 – The Buck Stops Here

American   Gothic - 01x17 The Buck Stops Here Summary: Caleb and Selena go to Lucas’ home to search for missing hospital files after being accused by the pharmacist as having taken them. Caleb seems to relish the fact he is Sheriff Buck’s son and uses his new found powers when Lucas is “murdered.” Sheriff Buck’s final words for Caleb states that “the evil is passed.”

Episode #18 – Requiem

American   Gothic - 01x18 Requiem Summary: Caleb uses his new powers to try and kill Gail and inherit Sheriff Buck’s estate. But when Ben and Billy dig up Lucas, he comes back to save Gail and his unborn child, setting up a confrontation between Sheriff Buck and Caleb.

Episode #19 – Potato Boy

American   Gothic - 01x19 Potato Boy Summary: Sheriff Buck is upset when Selena reaches out to help Caleb. Also, Ben seeks a psychiatrists help to figure out why he has animosity towards Sheriff Buck. But when Lucas learns of Ben’s visits, he takes matters into his own hands.

Episode #20 – Ring of Fire

American   Gothic - 01x20 Ring of Fire Summary: Sheriff Buck allows Gail to use her dreams and visions to reveal more about her past, including her parents behavior, her father’s abuse towards her, he mom’s affair and an attempted murder of her father.

Episode #21 – Echo of Your Last Goodbye

American   Gothic - 01x21 Echo of Your Last Goodbye Summary: Ben’s date, Cindy, is really an incarnation of Merlyn who is attempting to reveal to Ben the truth of her mother’s death by taking to a place where she took care of abandoned children. Meanwhile, Lucas admits that he loved Merlyn’s mother and wanted to marry her, but she refused to leave her husband.

Episode #22 – Strangler

American   Gothic - 01x22 Strangler Summary: Lucas summons the ghost of Albert De Salvo, better known as the Boston Strangler, in order to fight Merlyn. While Sheriff Buck makes himself scarce, Alberto befriends Caleb in order to get to Merlyn, kills a nurse and sets his sights on Gail as his next victim. Caleb may be the only one who can help save Merlyn, by conjuring up his special powers.


Posted in TV Episode Guides and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.